Black Author Showcase

Agents of Literary Change

Information

Reviewers

Members: 73
Latest Activity: Aug 3, 2013

Are You A Reviewer?

Hundreds of authors are looking for quality reviews of their new works. Feed your appetite for new reads by joining our group and letting the writing world know that you are ready to read and review their books.

Use this group to list your latest book reviews, direct eyes to your reviews on other sites (Amazon, B&N, etc.) and your web pages, or to share tips with fellow reviewers.

Publishers submit works here to be reviewed by members.

Discussion Forum

New Book release Holy Suspicion

Started by melissa love Sep 2, 2012.

Peppermint Candi

Started by melissa love Jan 19, 2012.

Love Is Blind ~ Book Tour

Started by melissa love Jan 1, 2012.

1106 Grand Boulevard

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 15, 2011.

Quirky Kids' Zoo

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 3, 2011.

The Pumpkin Field

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 20, 2011.

The Pea In The Peanut Butter

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 5, 2011.

Life Goes On

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 11, 2011.

The Olive Branch

Started by Deb Hockenberry Mar 3, 2011.

Loki: Why I Began The End

Started by Deb Hockenberry Feb 14, 2011.

Coming Up For Air

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jan 20, 2011.

Leaving England 5 Replies

Started by Deb Hockenberry. Last reply by Corey Washington Dec 31, 2010.

Tomorrow's Children Legend of the Ells

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 25, 2010.

The Accursed Dawn 1 Reply

Started by Deb Hockenberry. Last reply by Dominique Jul 22, 2010.

Feisty Family Values

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 6, 2010.

For Reviewers and Authors!!

Started by Dominique Jun 19, 2010.

The Island of Whispers

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 18, 2010.

Werelove: Dusk Conspiracy

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 8, 2010.

The Guardsman of Murray Hill-reviewed by Deb Hockenberry

Started by Deb Hockenberry May 17, 2010.

Choices Meant For Kings

Started by Deb Hockenberry May 5, 2010.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Reviewers to add comments!

Comment by Dominique on September 17, 2009 at 6:23pm
Hello Everyone!

I wanted to inform all my friends that I am providing a few new literary services on my website and magazine. I am now providing Publishing/Manuscript Coacing for those looking to publish their book or need help getting their manuscript together for publish. I have great knowledge on the field and look forward to sharing with those interested.

I am also doing book reviews. My rates are based on the length of your book. I am an avid reader. So please don't hesitate to contact me to read your book,

If you are interested in reading the full content of my services, please check out my website here: http://dominiquewatson.webs.com/myservices.htm

All rates are subject for negotiation. I will work with you. My goal is to help!!!!!

I look forward to hearing from you!

Dominique
Comment by Browngirl on August 5, 2009 at 1:43am
Greetings! In my personal life, I review literary fiction and nonfiction on my blog: BrownGirl BookSpeak.

In my professional life, I'm assistant editor and book reviewer for The Infinite Field Magazine, a digital spiritual lifestyle magazine.
Comment by karen andrea on June 3, 2009 at 9:04am
Sorry for the size of the picture - I had no idea the attachment would come out so enormous!
If anyone knows how to remedy this, kindly holler to me :/
Thanks
Comment by karen andrea on June 3, 2009 at 9:02am


Hello all. I'm a newbie, and just getting familiar with the site.
I would love to review and be reviewed. How do I go about it??
I'm in London, UK - hope that won't be an impediment.
I'm happy to double review coverage by posting on UK sites too.
I'd like to submit my new children's book for review: The Enchanted Library.
It's for 8-12's; I believe that's 'middle-grade' to you guys.

http://www.amazon.com/Enchanted-Library-Karen-Andrea/dp/1849231826/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1238970889&sr=1-6

Please check out my page, and contact me if you'd like a review.
Many thanks
Karen
Comment by Push_Nevahda on December 10, 2008 at 10:37pm
Comment by Paradise on August 10, 2008 at 12:50pm
I am Editor-in-Chief for NBWEN Magazine which will launch in September and also the Entertainment Manager/Copyeditor for 411 Sports & Entertainment and we're always looking for good book reviews of books for women in business on various topics as well as books that pertain to the Sport & Entertainment world. We'd love to receive some submissions for our upcoming issues. If interested, please email me at swilliams@411sportsnews.com and I will distribute to the appropriate editorial team!
Comment by PC Marks on July 20, 2008 at 12:34pm
I am the author of Broken Family Ties. I would like to submit a chapter for review. If any of you reviewers see potential, I'd like to submit two manuscripts (second part Severed Family Ties) for review and/or your recommendation to book clubs.


Chapter 9: Grandparent’s Rules

Alicia was awakened in the wee hours of the morning to the phone ringing. Initially, she thought she had dreamed of the ringing. When she reached for the phone all she heard was a dial tone.
Unable to fall asleep, she turned on the television. Henry’s snoring agitating her, she got out of bed. Downstairs next to her daughter’s favorite chair resting on the solid oak table beside it in the living room was her salvation.
She picked up the bible, closed her eyes and opened it. The passage revealed was the 23rd Psalms. Verse four slapped her hard. Ye, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: For You are with me: Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
The hairs on the back of her neck stood. There were goose bumps forming down her arms. She began to scratch. Alicia closed her eyes. A startling vision dropped her to her knees. Tears rolled down her face. The phone rang. Hesitantly on the third ring she grabbed the receiver.
“I know. What happened?” Grandma Alicia listened carefully to the details being given on the other end. “What!” She interrupted. “I’m sorry, continue,” she said.
Grandma Alicia returned the phone receiver to its cradle. She went into the kitchen. Looking around, she started rearranging. Talking to herself she said, “The spices belong over the stove, not in some rotating shelf beside the sink. I think the lids should be in this area and the pots and pans over there.”
Henry was awakened by the racket. He descends the stairs taking in the view of his daughter’s beautiful home. He marvels at the plush light beige carpet his feet sink into as he winds down the stairs. The living room is elegant with its dark tan and mahogany wood Queen Anne furnishings. The formal dining room is decorated with a solid oak eight seat table. There’s a matching China cabinet and hutch. He enters the kitchen to find Alicia rearranging what used to be an immaculate kitchen.
Before speaking he takes in the sight. An island sits in the middle of the floor. The cabinets are oak with stenciled glass displaying expensive dinnerware. The design on the glass is identical to the China cabinet doors in the dining room. The breakfast nook overlooks the professionally manicured backyard.
“Ya momma didn’t teach you to say good morning?” Alicia says, interrupting Henry’s admiration of his daughter’s home.
“Good morning,” Why are you rearranging this child’s things? I think you enjoy antagonizing Ann. Alicia you can’t do this.” Henry tried reasoning with his wife.
“Put her things back where she had them,” he said.
“She won’t need them,” Alicia continued setting up her daughter’s kitchen. She offered Henry a cup of coffee, finished setting up the kitchen and began preparing a hardy breakfast.
The sun was shining brightly through the beautiful bay windows. Breakfast had the entire house smelling beautifully. A quiet peaceful day was dawning. Grandpa was determined to not let Alicia ruin his.
Carl was awakened to Charles’ screaming. He rushed to his crib. He changed his diaper, gave him his bottle and held him in his arms. He wouldn’t stop wailing.
Caroline heard the noise. Upon entering her old room she said, “The walls were pink not blue, the crib white, not this ugly brown. Strawberry Shortcake decorated the wall border not the stupid baseball, basket ball, football and hockey stick border with that stupid mobile hanging from the crib to match.” She turned to leave the room.
“Help,” Carl said. “I don’t know what’s wrong with him. Go get Grandpa or something,” he demanded.
Caroline grinned. She leisurely strolled down steps she normally took two at a time. Casually entering the kitchen, she told the Grandparents, “That baby is acting up again, think you can do something.”
Alicia continued preparing breakfast ignoring her grandchild. Henry shakes his head side to side as he makes his way up the stairs.
“Okay, Okay. It’s alright. I’m here now.” Charles continued wailing. Grandpa Henry asked, “Has he been changed? Maybe he’s hungry?” The three, Charles being carried by Grandpa, Carl holding his free hand headed down stairs.
Carl sensed something was wrong. The gnawing feeling in his gut made him uneasy. He held on tight to his Grandpa.
Grandma Alicia stared at the howling baby. She approached Grandpa Henry. “Give him to me.” He bent over to place Charles in her arms. Grandma Alicia and her grandson’s eyes locked. He quieted.
She asked Carl to wipe down Charles’ high chair as she set the dining room table. Carl told her, “We eat breakfast in here,” he said pointing to the built in breakfast nook. She ignored him continuing to place breakfast in the center of the dining room table.
As she finished setting the table, she called for the grandchildren and Henry. Grandma Alicia explained the rules. “When you are called for breakfast, lunch or dinner, it will be in here. You are to thank God for receiving the blessing of food. You are not to eat or drink before grace is completed. You are not to leave the table without asking to be excused.”
Caroline and Carl’s eyes met. Carl couldn’t shake the eerie feeling. Caroline was unusually quiet. Her lips thinned, an evil glare watched her Grandmother.
Grandma Alicia continued on with the rules. She lowered her head, raised her joined hands inches from her face and closed her eyes. Lord we come to thank you for this nourishment. We ask that it does what you intend. That it keeps us healthy provides us with strength. Thank you for blessing us with these children. Help us guide them in the path of righteousness. As we embark on this journey of raising them, we ask for strength and courage to go forward.
She became quiet. Carl, Caroline and Grandpa Henry all opened there eyes. Grandma Alicia continued.
Help these babies deal with the loss of there parents, Jesus’ name, amen.
The days that followed seemed to take place in slow motion. Swarms of church goers were in attendance. The food seemed to never stop coming. Neighbors stopped by to pay there respect. Everyone hugged, kissed and assured the children they would be okay.
Charles wailed through the whole service. Carl was inconsolable, his wailing at times drowning the sound of his brother. Caroline stared. A far away glazed expression, she never shed a tear.
Grandpa prayed for the peaceful rest of the living children’s soul, the deliverance of the souls of Ann and Kevin, the softening of his cold heartless wife.
Kevin and Ann Grover were buried side by side in the Grover family plot next to Kevin’s parents. The going home celebration took place on the very day they were due to return home.

Official Site: www.pcpcmarks.com
Comment by 904Diva on July 17, 2008 at 12:03pm
I desperately need my manuscript reviewed. Can anyone help me with that? What do I need to do?

Thanks bunches!
Comment by AapriBooks on June 29, 2008 at 7:44pm
Hello Black Authors. My name is Shaun Mathis and I have a exciting new novel, This Hurts that I am looking to get reviewed. For more info about me & This Hurts please, please visit www.aapribooks.com or send an email to info@aapribooks.com
Thank you and happy reading.
Comment by Jill on June 14, 2008 at 4:43pm

 

Members (72)

 
 
 

Latest Activity

SPAM IS SO NOT COOL!

Please do not greet everyone on the site with large images and announcements of your book or business. Yes, you want to tell the world, but learn the fine art of subtlety. A simple welcome and signature/link is fine. Let them ask you for more.
We have lost numerous members because of the amount of 'friend' mail they instantly receive. This Hurts Everyone.
Spam is unsolicited advertising, whether it is posted as comments on other members' pages or is emailed for marketing purposes.

Please be considerate. Post your advertisement in the proper Articles/Forum or Group. There are free classifieds on the Pages tab. You can post your information on your profile and even update your blog as often as you like.

We are not into censorship, so please don't make us ask you to leave. Be kind and unselfish - don't spam.
SPAMMING IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED

Cyber Tech Tips for Writers

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Get It, Mail It, Share It! Fresh BAS - Share the Literary Love

Click Here to DONATE TODAY!

Let the Black Author Showcase come to you: Subscribe to the Articles Newsletter

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Submit to RestNews.COM

 

Share This On Your Website

© 2017   Created by Diane.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service