Black Author Showcase

Agents of Literary Change

Information

Reviewers

Members: 73
Latest Activity: Aug 3, 2013

Are You A Reviewer?

Hundreds of authors are looking for quality reviews of their new works. Feed your appetite for new reads by joining our group and letting the writing world know that you are ready to read and review their books.

Use this group to list your latest book reviews, direct eyes to your reviews on other sites (Amazon, B&N, etc.) and your web pages, or to share tips with fellow reviewers.

Publishers submit works here to be reviewed by members.

Discussion Forum

New Book release Holy Suspicion

Started by melissa love Sep 2, 2012.

Peppermint Candi

Started by melissa love Jan 19, 2012.

Love Is Blind ~ Book Tour

Started by melissa love Jan 1, 2012.

1106 Grand Boulevard

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 15, 2011.

Quirky Kids' Zoo

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 3, 2011.

The Pumpkin Field

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 20, 2011.

The Pea In The Peanut Butter

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 5, 2011.

Life Goes On

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 11, 2011.

The Olive Branch

Started by Deb Hockenberry Mar 3, 2011.

Loki: Why I Began The End

Started by Deb Hockenberry Feb 14, 2011.

Coming Up For Air

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jan 20, 2011.

Leaving England 5 Replies

Started by Deb Hockenberry. Last reply by Corey Washington Dec 31, 2010.

Tomorrow's Children Legend of the Ells

Started by Deb Hockenberry Aug 25, 2010.

The Accursed Dawn 1 Reply

Started by Deb Hockenberry. Last reply by Dominique Jul 22, 2010.

Feisty Family Values

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jul 6, 2010.

For Reviewers and Authors!!

Started by Dominique Jun 19, 2010.

The Island of Whispers

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 18, 2010.

Werelove: Dusk Conspiracy

Started by Deb Hockenberry Jun 8, 2010.

The Guardsman of Murray Hill-reviewed by Deb Hockenberry

Started by Deb Hockenberry May 17, 2010.

Choices Meant For Kings

Started by Deb Hockenberry May 5, 2010.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Reviewers to add comments!

Comment by Deb Hockenberry on April 15, 2011 at 5:38pm

 

Check out my review of the childhood memoir, Ferry Tales, at Deb's Book Reviews!

Comment by Deb Hockenberry on March 30, 2011 at 4:10pm

 

Check out my review of the new YA novel called The Pawnbroker!  You can read it at Deb's Book Reviewsor The Bumpy Road.  See you there!

Comment by Dominique on July 22, 2010 at 6:16pm
Place your reviews in our newsletter. Email us for details fromawriterspov@gmail.com
Comment by Alexander Devereux on July 7, 2010 at 2:24pm


Gar Fish & Long Gravy
Memoirs of Southern Sensibility
by Alexander Devereux


Format: 6 x 9 paperback cream
ISBN: 978-1-59800-675-9
Cover Price: $12.95
Trade Discount: 40%
Pages: 96
Category: BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / New Thought
Available at: http://outskirtspress.com/alexanderdevereux
Distributed via: Ingram, Baker & Taylor
Published by: Outskirts Press, Inc.
Full trade discount at: http://outskirtspress.com/buybooks
Publication Date: Jun 30, 2010



Growing up poor in the small town of Vicksburg, Miss., Alexander Devereaux didn’t have much. But there was no lack of remarkable personalities, each of whom left an indelible imprint on his life. Gar Fish & Long Gravy collects the stories, insight, tragedies, and uproarious wit of an unforgettable cast of characters. Meet Granmama Lia’, whose hard-won wisdom on life, love—and mistresses—is dispensed to in her kitchen to her beloved grandson, sometimes over Johnny Walker Black. There’s Ms. Peaches, who raises chickens in her ramshackle hut yet might be one of the richest people in town. Big Daddy is an imposing hulk, but his massive frame hides a vulnerable past and humiliating secret. Ms. Annie Laurie is a fabulously wealthy white woman who never had children of her own. But her love rains down on young Alexander. And that’s just for starters.

Based on real-life experiences, Gar Fish & Long Gravy is about the mistakes we make, the loves we share, and the stories we tell each other that make us who we are. And it is the touching story of a boy who ultimately breaks free of the poverty and abuse of his extended family, yet never forgets the important lessons he learned along the way. As Grandmama said, “If sense were common, everybody would have it.”





About the Author, Alexander Devereux
Alexander Devereux overcame epilepsy at birth, dyslexia, and poverty to graduate from college and become a highly successful professional. An ordained minister, he works in the administrative field of higher education. Devereux is at work on his second book, a follow-up to Gar Fish and Long Gravy. He lives in Atlanta.



For more information, visit http://outskirtspress.com/alexanderdevereux





Outskirts Press, Inc., 10940 S. Parker Rd - 515, Parker CO 80134 Phone: 888-672-6657 Fax: 888-208-8601
Comment by Dominique on June 22, 2010 at 10:33am
From A Writer's POV is looking for Book Reviewers! http://fromawriterspovmagazine.com/issue/june-2010/article/book-rev...
Comment by Dominique on June 19, 2010 at 8:36pm
From A Writer's POV has a new Newsletter "The Reader's Hot Spot" We are allowing Reviewers and Authors to place book reviews on our newsletter. This is another great way for people to read what others thought of your book and how to purchase it. The newsletter goes out every Friday! Check the details here and get your review on our newsletter: http://fromawriterspovmagazine.com/issue/june-2010/article/book-rev...
Comment by Helen Brewer on January 23, 2010 at 4:27pm
It’s Crunch Time!”, This is a new children’s book by Marie Brewer. Find it on www.borders.com & www.amazon.com (www.helenbrewer.com for excerpts and a link to book) This is my book of muscle for boys (ages 9-12) to point them in the direction of HOPE!...This is an interactive book where they can write about their feelings. It discusses acceptable behavior, honesty, good self-image, respect for females and animals, appreciation for teachers/school, choosing good friends. The book also talks about resisting gangs, guns, drugs, violence, alcohol and bad influences. Let's attack the behavior, not the boy. "It's Crunch Time!" , $10.95 , by Marie Brewer, www.borders.com or www.bbotw.com Be a part of the village to help our boys envision their true God-given purpose!
We can turn this thing around! SEE! THINK ! ACT!
IF NOT YOU , THEN WHO ?!
Heaven gives us hope! Marie Brewer



Comment by Kim Wilson on November 12, 2009 at 10:10pm
OOWEE's Cultural Cards & Framed POETRY. The written word has historically made excellent GIFTS for holidays,
anniversaries, birthdays, just to say hello/thinking about you, Words of Wisdom and the list goes on. For more information on how we can create poetry from your thoughts/feelings/emotions or from OOWEE's stockpile,
contact: onmyownkikl@yahoo.com
210-374-5330
and tell me what's on your mind.
Words are worth a thousand words but framed words last a lifetime.
Free shipping to any address within the United States
Black/Brown Lacquer, Brown Wood, Studded, Cloth, Various colors & Various sizes
In the Spirit I rise
Father God
I am filled with prayers that I am unable to organize,
but still I rise.
I rise
because the sun, even during the darkest rain,
brightens to guide me another day.
I rise
in your Glory, all discouragement faded away.
I rise
because your wind, lifted on its strength, glad to be okay.
I rise
in the evidences of my abundance rising to dance a jig.
Rising wrapped in Your LOVE
Abba Father,
I rise.
Amen, amen.
OOWEE Poetry
Kim Wilson
Comment by Hardest Working Woman in Credit on November 4, 2009 at 11:49am

Stop by and join the fan club at www.creditadviseforyou.ning.com. Make sure you re-post the videos and forward the videos. It's time for change and millions of people do not know the truth about credit. The BLAME is on the consumer. But who forgot to TEACH THIS IN OUR SCHOOL SYSTEM AND COLLEGE.

Thank you for you assistance. Be blessed and remember to bless others. If we want change, it's up to us to change.

Free education!

The Credit Expert, Author of Innocent Victims online at Barnes and Nobles, Books A Million, Walden Books, and amazon.com

Facebook- Post Your Credit Questions!!!
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2039501&id=1077713925&...

YouTube-Subcribe to free on going credit education. Make sure you leave comments!!
http://www.youtube.com/user/PASTnations


RE-POST and let's get educated...Send through emails and forward to friends. I am only ONE person and I need your help. Remember one person can change the world. This does not cost a cent so forward...

Contact me at advocate102@hotmail.com
321-287-0986

Free workshops for the first 30 churches. Book for next year! This year has been booked already.. NO excuse, change is coming!!
Comment by Kim Wilson on October 16, 2009 at 10:48pm
Calling al literary minds; when you have time please visit my sites and pass the addresses to your friends and family and the like; a sista' needs all the eyes she can get!
Thanks.
OOWEE!
ooweeatalltimes.ning.com
facebook (look for the EYES)
http://www.kimkologne.synthasite.com
http://www.littleepisodes.org/profile/kimwilson
Again, thanks.
 

Members (72)

 
 
 

Latest Activity

Diane posted a discussion
Jan 5
Diane posted an event
Thumbnail

Creators of Afrofuturism Workshop at Long Branch Library

October 22, 2016 from 11am to 3pm
Diverse Writers and Artists of Speculative Fiction (DWASF), in conjunction with AfroFuturismNet.com and Black Author Showcase, will present a free workshop on how to develop stories in science fiction, fantasy, and horror.“Creators of Afrofuturism Workshop” will take place at the Long Branch Library at 8800 Garland Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20901 on October 22 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.The event will feature authors …See More
Oct 12, 2016
Diane posted events
Sep 1, 2016
Diane posted a discussion

22 Contemporary Authors You Absolutely Should Be Reading

Buzzfeed Books article by Issac FitzgeraldTake a look at the first six here, then check out the complete list on Buzzfeed…See More
Sep 1, 2016

SPAM IS SO NOT COOL!

Please do not greet everyone on the site with large images and announcements of your book or business. Yes, you want to tell the world, but learn the fine art of subtlety. A simple welcome and signature/link is fine. Let them ask you for more.
We have lost numerous members because of the amount of 'friend' mail they instantly receive. This Hurts Everyone.
Spam is unsolicited advertising, whether it is posted as comments on other members' pages or is emailed for marketing purposes.

Please be considerate. Post your advertisement in the proper Articles/Forum or Group. There are free classifieds on the Pages tab. You can post your information on your profile and even update your blog as often as you like.

We are not into censorship, so please don't make us ask you to leave. Be kind and unselfish - don't spam.
SPAMMING IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED

Cyber Tech Tips for Writers

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Get It, Mail It, Share It! Fresh BAS - Share the Literary Love

Click Here to DONATE TODAY!

Let the Black Author Showcase come to you: Subscribe to the Articles Newsletter

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Submit to RestNews.COM

 

Share This On Your Website

© 2017   Created by Diane.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service